etc theater icon

The Color Purple

The Color Purple is a Broadway musical based upon the novel The Color Purple by Alice Walker. The musical opened on Broadway at the Broadway Theatre on December 1, 2005. The Color Purple is directed by Gary Griffin, produced by Scott Sanders (Producer), Quincy Jones and Oprah Winfrey, with choreography by Donald Byrd. It features music and lyrics written by Brenda Russell, Allee Willis and Stephen Bray, with a book by Marsha Norman.